The Color Purple

thecolorpurple5The Color Purple

Author: Alice Walker

Publisher: Open Road, 2011 (Ebook)

Rating: 4owls

Thoughts:

I loved the epistolary structure of the novel as it really helped me understand Celie’s perspective. Even though it was really hard to read what Celie and the other women in the novel went through, it was satisfying to experience their growth and the paths they chose to take. I could not put this book down because of the beautiful language.

Memorable Quotes:

“I think it pisses God off if you walk by the color purple in a field somewhere and don’t notice it. People think pleasing God is all God cares about. But any fool living in the world can see it always trying to please us back.”

“…have you ever found God in church? I never did. I just found a bunch of folks hoping for him to show. Any God I ever felt in church I brought in with me. And I think all the other folks did too. They come to church to share God, not find God.”

“I think us here to wonder, myself. To wonder. To ask. And that in wondering bout the big things and asking bout the big things, you learn about the little ones, almost by accident. But you never know nothing more about the big things than you start out with. The more I wonder, the more I love.”

 

2 thoughts on “The Color Purple”

Leave a comment